Posts in the category

Behrend track athletes set more marks

Malik Moffett-Pulliam

By | April 19, 2014 11:46 pm | 0 Comments


More Penn State Behrend school records were set Saturday at the Kenyon College Spring Invitational. The Behrend men won the 13-team meet, while the women placed seventh. Cathedral Prep graduate Malik Moffett-Pulliam qualified for the ECAC championships and broke his own school record in the 200-meter dash with a time of 21.54 seconds. The freshman… View Article

Read more

Behrend runners set school records at tri-meet

By | April 17, 2014 12:00 am | 0 Comments


The Penn State Behrend track and field teams set some personal marks Wednesday in Pittsburgh at the Carnegie Mellon Tri-Meet at Gesling Stadium. Cathedral Prep graduate Malik Moffett-Pulliam, a Behrend freshman, set a school record (again) in winning the 100-meter dash in an ECAC-qualifying time of 10.66 seconds. The mark is tied for seventh-best this season in all… View Article

Read more

5 area athletes named to PSAC Winter Top 10

By | April 11, 2014 2:35 pm | 0 Comments


Five area athletes were named PSAC Winter Top 10 award winners. The PSAC Top 10 Awards recognizes student-athletes who excel in the classroom and in athletics. Mercyhurst wrestler Dylan D’Urso, Edinboro indoor track athlete Tabitha Bemis, Edinboro basketball player Valerie Majewski and Gannon basketball players Adam Blazek and Jen Papich were named to the Top… View Article

Read more

Behrend’s Moffett-Pulliam a quad winner at Quad Meet

By | April 5, 2014 11:34 pm | 0 Comments


Malik Moffett-Pulliam is putting together an excellent freshman season for the Penn State Behrend track and field team. Moffett-Pulliam, a sprinter/jumper who graduated from Cathedral Prep, won three individual events and was part of the winning 400-meter relay team Saturday at the Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet. The Behrend men won the four-team meet. Moffett-Pulliam won the 100… View Article

Read more

Edinboro distance runner Deibel claims PSAC honor

By | April 2, 2014 12:47 am | 0 Comments


Edinboro senior Bryan Deibel was named the PSAC men’s outdoor track and field athlete of the week Tuesday. Deibel had a strong performance at last weekend’s Raleigh Relays as he finished with an NCAA provisional time in the 10,000-meter run. He finished 31st (30 minutes, 27.44 seconds) and competed as part of Section A, which included… View Article

Read more

LeBoeuf grad Smith posts D-III top-10 time

By | March 29, 2014 11:05 pm | 0 Comments


Rachel Smith started off Mount Union’s outdoor track and field season on the right foot. Smith, a Fort LeBoeuf graduate, won the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the Don Frail Invitational at Marietta College in Marietta, Ohio, on Saturday. Smith posted the ninth best time in all of Division III so far this season at 11 minutes, 25.43 seconds. A senior… View Article

Read more

Shorts stands out in steeplechase

By | March 26, 2014 12:00 am | 0 Comments


Clarion senior Ciara Shorts, a Fort LeBoeuf graduate, set a steeplechase standard for Division II women’s track athletes on March 21. Shorts was named PSAC track and field athlete of the week with her effort at the Shamrock Invitational in Myrtle Beach, S.C. Shorts clinched an NCAA Division II provisional time of 11 minutes, 2.77… View Article

Read more

On Campus notebook: Gannon’s Uht claims water polo honor

By | February 16, 2014 7:00 am | 0 Comments


Gannon’s women’s water polo team is drawing on its pool of area talent. The Knights’ team includes six area high school graduates, including freshman Christine Uht, a Villa Maria graduate. Uht was named the Water Polo Association Western Division rookie of the week last week. Uht scored a goal in her college debut Feb. 8… View Article

Read more

Cram Session: Matthews, Daley give Clarion wrestling lift as freshmen

By | February 10, 2014 11:33 am | 0 Comments


Cram Session features quick-hitting athlete updates and commentary: WRESTLING: Two recent District 10 standouts are making an impact as true freshmen with the Clarion wrestling team. Reynolds graduate Austin Matthews, the 2013 Erie Times-News District 10 Wrestler of the Year, improved to 19-5 at 157 pounds with a win in the Golden Eagles’ 30-16 victory over… View Article

Read more