Posts in the category

Ex-Edinboro wrestling standout Rosselli claims freestyle coach of year honor

   June 20, 2014 9:12 pm    0

Former Edinboro All-American and assistant coach Lou Rosselli claimed the 2013 Terry McCann Award as the National Freestyle Coach of the Year. Rosselli is currently the associate head coach at Ohio State. Terry McCann, who wrestled for Iowa, was an NCAA champion in 1955 and 1956 and a three-time Big Ten champ. He also won…


Read more

Edinboro places 17th, leads PSAC schools in Learfield Directors’ Cup

   June 4, 2014 9:07 pm    0

Edinboro placed 17th overall out of 246 schools to finish as the top team from the PSAC in the final Division II Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings. Grand Valley State finished with 1,030 points to win the Learfield Cup for the ninth time. Points are awarded based on a maximum of seven men’s and seven…


Read more

On Campus notebook: Samluk, Cosgrove excel in softball

   May 11, 2014 7:00 am    0

McDowell graduates Ashley Samluk and Brenna Cosgrove had standout softball seasons in the PSAC. Both made the all-conference first team this week. Samluk, a sophomore at Slippery Rock, was named the PSAC West Division’s top third baseman. Cosgrove, a senior at Edinboro, was one of three first-team outfielders. Samluk had 21 RBIs and led the…


Read more

5 area athletes named to PSAC Winter Top 10

   April 11, 2014 2:35 pm    0

Five area athletes were named PSAC Winter Top 10 award winners. The PSAC Top 10 Awards recognizes student-athletes who excel in the classroom and in athletics. Mercyhurst wrestler Dylan D’Urso, Edinboro indoor track athlete Tabitha Bemis, Edinboro basketball player Valerie Majewski and Gannon basketball players Adam Blazek and Jen Papich were named to the Top…


Read more

Gannon, Mercyhurst wrestlers claim spots on D-II All-Academic teams

   April 2, 2014 2:26 pm    0

Gannon wrestlers Matt Turek and Zack Zelcs were named to the NCAA Division II All-Academic first team, while the Golden Knights’ Arlen Mase earned a spot on the second team and Andrew Wood landed an honorable mention accolade. Mercyhurst’s Dylan D’Urso and August Mizia earned first-team All-Academic honors, while the Lakers’ Tyler Berger and Ryan…


Read more

Port’s 3rd-place finish paces Edinboro

   March 22, 2014 11:33 pm    0

Mitchell Port‘s third-place finish led the way for Edinboro’s trio of All-Americans at the NCAA Division I wrestling championships Saturday at the Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City. A.J. Schopp and David Habat placed fourth to help the Fighting Scots post 62 team points and finish fifth overall. Port (32-1) beat North Carolina’s Evan Henderson…


Read more

3 Edinboro wrestlers earn All-America honors

   March 22, 2014 12:40 am    0

Edinboro wrestlers won’t be on the center mat in Saturday night’s NCAA Division I championship finals, but the Fighting Scots will have three All-Americans for the first time since 2009. A.J. Schopp (133 pounds), Mitchell Port (141) and David Habat (149) all were assured of All-America status after Friday’s session at Chesapeake Energy Arena in…


Read more

Schopp, Port lead Edinboro wrestlers at NCAA championships

   March 20, 2014 11:46 pm    0

A.J. Schopp and Mitchell Port led the way for Edinboro on the first day of the NCAA Division I wrestling championships Thursday at Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City. Schopp (No. 2 seed, 133 pounds) and Port (No. 1 seed, 141) each went 2-0 to reach the quarterfinals and help the Scots compile 18 team…


Read more

Taylor, Ruth lead Penn State to 4th straight Big Ten title

   March 9, 2014 6:31 pm    0

The Penn State wrestling team won its fourth consecutive Big Ten Conference tournament championship with the help of two four-time champions today in Madison, Wis. David Taylor and Ed Ruth won their their fourth consecutive Big Ten individual titles. Taylor, a former national champion and two-time NCAA runner-up, won a 14-5 major decision over Iowa’s…


Read more

Edinboro wins EWL, sends 7 to NCAAs; Penn State leads Big Ten

   March 9, 2014 10:31 am    0

The Edinboro wrestling team turned in an outstanding performance Saturday in the Eastern Wrestling League championships, winning the team title and five individual titles at Cleveland State. Fighting Scots 133-pounder A.J. Schopp won his third EWL title, while Mitchell Port (141) and David Habat (149) each won their second in a row. Vic Avery (184)…


Read more