By Victor Fernandes Erie Times-News staff blogger
Staff writer Victor Fernandes has ice in his veins. Hockey – he plays it, coaches it and provides the region's best coverage of it.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1716
Posted: April 15th, 2010
UPDATE: OHL’s coach of the year to be revealed Thursday

Toronto – The Ontario Hockey League will announce today the 2009-10 recipient of the Matt Leyden Trophy, awarded annually to the OHL’s coach of the year.

Finalists for 2009-10 OHL Coach of the Year are:

Bob Boughner, Windsor Spitfires

Stan Butler, Brampton Battalion

Dave Cameron, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors

Dale Hunter, London Knights

Denny Lambert, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds

Marty Williamson, Barrie Colts

The Matt Leyden Trophy is voted on by the member teams of the Ontario Hockey League. In a first round of balloting, teams vote for the top coaches, within their own conference. The top three nominees from both the Eastern and Western conferences are declared as finalists. A second round of voting is then conducted on a league wide basis where teams vote for any of the six finalists.

At no time during the voting can a team vote for their own candidate. Coaches receive five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote.

The Matt Leyden Trophy has been awarded annually since 1972, to the Coach of the Year in the Ontario Hockey League. The award is in recognition of the contributions of Matt Leyden, past president of the Ontario Hockey Association from 1965-1967. The Oshawa native was honored as a lifetime member of the OHA in 1972.  Bob Boughner of the Windsor Spitfires has won the award the past two seasons.

- From OHL news release

No Responses to UPDATE: OHL’s coach of the year to be revealed Thursday
Leave a Reply


Switch to our mobile site