By Victor Fernandes Erie Times-News staff blogger
Staff writer Victor Fernandes has ice in his veins. Hockey – he plays it, coaches it and provides the region's best coverage of it.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1716
Posts tagged ‘hobey baker’
Posted: March 21st, 2013

No. 6 Mercyhurst (18-16-5) vs. No. 4 Connecticut (19-13-4)
When: Friday, 7:05 p.m.
Where: Blue Cross Arena – Rochester, N.Y.
On the air: (live stream), WMCE-FM/88.5 & (radio), (live scores)
Up next: Championship game (Saturday, 7:05 p.m. at Blue Cross Arena)*
What to expect: Mercyhurst has reached the Atlantic Hockey Association semifinals for the second straight season. The Lakers lost to eventual champion Air Force 5-2 in this round a season ago. … The Lakers rebounded from an eight-game winless streak with a sweep of 11th-seeded Army at Mercyhurst Ice Center two weeks ago and a series win at No. 3 Holy Cross last weekend. … Mercyhurst hasn’t reached the title game since consecutive trips in 2008 and 2009 (lost to Air Force both times). … The Lakers haven’t won an AHA championship since beating Quinnipiac 3-2 in the 2005 title game. They also beat Quinnipiac 6-5 to capture the 2001 title, when the league was known as the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference. … Mercyhurst and UConn split their two-game, regular-season series in Storrs, Conn., with the Lakers losing 5-4 Jan. 18 and winning 5-0 the following night. … The Lakers lead the all-time series 32-13-3. Yet they have lost three straight and four of six games against the Huskies in the postseason, including a UConn sweep in the 2011 AHA quarterfinals. … With top-seeded and 15th-ranked Niagara (23-8-5) facing seventh-seeded Canisius (17-18-5) in the other semifinal, the conference will have a champion from a school other than Air Force and Rochester Institute of Technology for the first time since Holy Cross in 2006. Air Force, which lost to Canisius in the quarterfinals, had won five of the last six titles (2007-09, 2011-12). RIT, which lost to Niagara in the quarterfinals, won in 2010 on the way to the first NCAA Division I Frozen Four appearance for the Tigers and the AHA. … Senior F Grant Blakey has five goals and seven points in the Lakers’ five playoff games. … UConn senior G Matt Grogan has a 14-3-3 record, 1.88 goals-against average and .939 save percentage since taking over as starter midway through the season. He was the Huskies’ only player to earn all-conference honors (third team). Mercyhurst features three all-stars – junior D Nick Jones (first team), sophomore F Ryan Misiak (second) and sophomore F Matthew Zay (third). … Niagara has never reached the title game. Canisius hasn’t reached the final since 1999 (lost 4-3 to Holy Cross). … Niagara junior G Carson Chubak leads the nation with six shutouts and ranks among the top five in winning percentage (.773), goals-against average (1.81) and save percentage (.941). He’s one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, which honors the nation’s top men’s hockey player. … Freshman F Ralph Cuddemi, a former Erie Otters draft pick, has two goals and seven points in 34 games for Canisius.
* If the Lakers win tonight

- Victor Fernandes

Atlantic Hockey Association final four schedule
at Blue Cross Arena – Rochester, N.Y.
Semifinals – Friday

No. 1 Niagara (23-8-5) vs. No. 7 Canisius (17-18-5), 4:05 p.m.
No. 4 Connecticut (19-13-4) vs. No. 6 Mercyhurst (18-16-5), 7:05 p.m.
Championship game – Saturday
Semifinal winners, 7:05 p.m.
Note: Champion earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Division I tournament.

Posted: January 13th, 2011

What: Holy Cross (7-11-2, 6-5-1 AHA) at Mercyhurst College (8-11-2, 6-8-0)

When: Friday and Saturday, 7:05 p.m.

Where: Mercyhurst Ice Center

On the air: (Internet video), WMCE (radio)

Players to watch

Mercyhurst – Sr. G Ryan Zapolski (6-8-1 record, 2.81 goals-against average, .917 save percentage, 1 shutout), Sr. F Scott Pitt (7-11-18), Sr. F Steve Cameron (7-10-17), So. F Paul Chiasson (8-6-14), Fr. F Taylor Holstrom (7-7-14)

Holy Cross – Sr. F Everett Sheen (8-12-20), So. F Rob Linsmayer (6-10-16), So. F Kyle Fletcher (4-12-16), Jr. F Andrew Cox (6-6-12), So. G Thomas Tysowsky (5-6-0, 3.76, .873, 2 SO)

Fast facts

Mercyhurst – The Lakers play their first home games in a month. They have seven of 11 games at MIC. … They are eighth in the Atlantic Hockey Association standings, two points behind sixth-place Holy Cross and Connecticut. … The Lakers scored nine goals – their most since an 11-1 win against American International on Dec. 6, 2008 – in a 9-4 at UConn on Saturday. … They lead the all-time series with the Crusaders 21-10-4. A year ago, they won 5-1 and 4-1 at MIC – their first season sweep of Holy Cross since the 2007-08 season. … Pitt and senior F Mike Gurtler (4-10-14) scored short-handed in the UConn win – the first time the Lakers have accomplished that feat in a decade. … Gurtler has four goals and 11 points in his last seven games. … The Lakers have scored nine power-play goals in the past eight games after totaling five in the opening 13 games. … Holstrom is the conference’s reigning rookie of the week. … Junior D Kevin Noble (lower-body injury) hasn’t played since Dec. 4 at Sacred Heart.

Holy Cross – The Crusaders snapped an eight-game winless streak with a 5-1 home win against Niagara on Saturday. … They still have their best AHA record through 13 games since a 9-3-1 mark in 2005-06. … Sheen appears on the fan ballot for the Hobey Baker Award, presented to the nation’s top player, for the fourth straight season. … The Crusaders have the AHA’s best power play and ranked sixth in NCAA Division I (23.4 percent). … They are 7-1-1 when scoring the first goal. … They are 5-4-2 on the road.

Up next: at Bentley (Jan. 21-22, 7:05 p.m.)

– Victor Fernandes

Posted: January 13th, 2011

St. Paul, Minn. – College hockey enters its second half and that signals the quest for college hockey fans everywhere to help determine the 2011 winner of the Hobey Baker Award.

Awarded annually to college hockey’s top player, the Hobey Baker’s highly popular fan-voting phase opens today. Visit the Hobey Baker website at to make your selection from this year’s outstanding crop of college hockey players.  Please spend some additional time and check out our all new website.

This first phase of fan balloting will run now through March 6.  Phase two of fan balloting will begin on March 18 from the list of top 10 Hobey Baker finalists.  The fans’ vote accounts for a full 1 percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates emulating the exceptional character traits exhibited by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker, a World War I flying star better known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day.  Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game.  Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2011 include:

  • Top Ten list of candidates:  March 17
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists:  March 31
  • Hobey Baker Award announcement:  April 8

The 2011 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on April 8 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in St. Paul, Minn.  The 31st annual award announcement honoring college hockey’s top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU.

For more info on the Hobey Baker Award or to access the Hobey logo, please visit

- From news release

Switch to our mobile site