Blogs » Varsity
By Mike Copper, Tom Reisenweber, Jeff Kirik Erie Times-News staff bloggers
The Varsity blog is the 2013 winner of an international EPPY award for best sports blog. EPPYs are awarded to media-affiliated websites by Editor & Publisher, an industry trade publication. Varsity is primarily maintained by Times-News sports writers Mike Copper and Tom Reisenweber and sports editor Jeff Kirik.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1700

Summer Huddle: WPIAL Northern Seven preview

2011 outlook
Favorite: North Allegheny
Contenders: McDowell, North Hills
Dark horse: Shaler

2010 rewind
Conference Overall
North Allegheny 5-1 15-1
North Hills 5-1 10-2
McDowell 4-2 7-3
Pine-Richland 3-3 3-7
Shaler 3-3 5-4
Seneca Valley 1-5 3-6
Butler 0-6 0-9

Returning all-stars
RB Greg Garmon McDowell Jr. 6-2 190
MP J.P. Holtz Shaler Jr. 6-4 235
WR Sean Gavin Shaler Jr. 6-1 167
TE Luke DeHart McDowell Jr. 6-0 220
C Peter Thistle North Allegheny Jr. 6-0 220
T Patrick Kugler North Allegheny So. 6-4 255
T David Miller Seneca Valley Jr. 6-4 280
No returnees

2010 Postseason results
WPIAL Class AAAA playoffs
First round
Pittsburgh Central Catholic 37, Pine-Richland 10
Gateway 37, McDowell 21
North Allegheny 38, Peters Township 7
North Hills 20, Penn-Trafford 3
North Allegheny 23, Bethel Park 13
North Hills 16, Upper St. Clair 14
North Allegheny 17, Pittsburgh Central Catholic 14
Woodland Hills 24, North Hills 14
North Allegheny 21, Woodland Hills 14
PIAA playoffs
North Allegheny 21, State College 6
North Allegheny 35, Cumberland Valley 17
North Allegheny 21, LaSalle 0

Look for the Kickoff magazine at a Country Fair near you beginning Aug. 15. The 112-page magazine previews the upcoming WPIAL Northern Seven football season, including top returning players, schedules, stats and more.

– Tom Reisenweber

Posted in: Football, Summer Huddle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Switch to our mobile site