Blogs » Varsity
By Mike Copper, Tom Reisenweber, Jeff Kirik Erie Times-News staff bloggers
The Varsity blog is the 2013 winner of an international EPPY award for best sports blog. EPPYs are awarded to media-affiliated websites by Editor & Publisher, an industry trade publication. Varsity is primarily maintained by Times-News sports writers Mike Copper and Tom Reisenweber and sports editor Jeff Kirik.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1700

Fall Fastbreak – Oil City

Oil City Oilers
Coach (season, record): John Davis (13th season)
2010-11 overall record: 8-14
2010-11 region record (place): 5-11 (tied for sixth)
2010-11 playoff results: Did not qualify for the District 10 Class AAA playoffs.
Top players lost: Dallas Williams, Logan Lantz, Guy Dodge, Jeremy Siegel
Top returning players: Nate Davis, Dan Yarnell, Jeff Zimoski, Steve McCauley, Blake Hadley, Logan Way
Assistant coaches: Craig Kasunic, Keith Fulmer, Kevin Vogan
Outlook: Oil City could quietly become a contender this season with limited losses to graduation in Guy Dodge, Logan Lantz, Jeremy Siegel and Dallas Williams. The Oilers weren’t a bad team last year and will use their experience to try and climb into playoff contention this winter. Seniors Nate Davis, Dan Yarnell, Jeff Zimoski, Steve McCauley and Blake Hadley provide leadership, but Hadley did get banged up in football season. Sophomore Logan Way could also be an impact player for the Oilers. Oil City will also look for several newcomers to contribute. Evan Carrll, Jericho Hartle, Hunter French, Devon Geib, Andrew Williams and Cullen Flaherty could see varsity action this winter. Oil City was thrown into a tailspin last year when coach Jason Fulmer moved on to Franklin but with a full offseason to train and prepare, the Oilers and coach John Davis could be a tough team to beat this season.

9-10 Fort LeBoeuf tournament
13 at George Junior 7:30
16 at Meadville* 7:30
20 Hickory* 7:30
28-29 Oil City tournament
3 Sharon* 7:30
10 Farrell* 7:30
13 at Slippery Rock* 7:30
17 Franklin* 7:30
19 at Titusville* 7:30
21 at Grove City* 7:30
24 Meadville* 7:30
27 at Hickory* 7:30
31 at Sharon* 7:30
4 at Farrell* 7:30
7 Slippery Rock* 7:30
10 at Franklin* 7:30
11 at Warren 2:30
14 Titusville* 7:30
17 Grove City* 7:30

Coach (season, record): Paul Flickner (2nd season, 1-21)
2010-11 overall record: 1-21
2010-11 region record (place): 0-12 (seventh)
2010-11 playoff results: Did not qualify for the District 10 Class AAA playoffs.
Top player lost: Erica Wassil
Top returning players: Chelsea Hall, Weslee Clyde, Carlee Wenner, Stephanie Stevenson, McKenzie Reck, Kayleigh Serafin, Erin Wilfong
Assistant coaches: Jessica Jack, Chyanne Shuffstaff
Outlook: Oil City went through some growing pains last winter but the Oilers could be a tougher team this year. With only the loss of Erica Wassil to graduation, the young Oilers took their lumps and earned a valuable year of experience last winter. Senior Chelsea Hall started the past two years and is a leader for Oil City, while junior forward Weslee Clyde lead the Oilers in scoring last winter. Sophomores Carlee Wenner, Stephanie Stevenson, McKenzie Reck, Kayleigh Serafin and Erin Wilfong saw varsity action last winter and could be contributors again this season. The Oilers could also receive strong efforts from freshmen Riley Davis and Lena Carll. Oil City is still developing under second-year coach Paul Flickner but the Oilers could be tough to beat each night this season.

9-10 Oil City tournament
13 Union City 7:30
16 Titusville* 7:30
19 Hickory* 7:30
23 at Grove City* 7:30
28-29 Oil City tournament
5 Slippery Rock* 7:30
9 at Meadville* 7:30
12 Franklin* 7:30
14 Greenville 7:30
16 at Eisenhower 7:30
19 Youngsville 7:30
23 at Titusville* 7:30
25 Eisenhower 7:30
26 at Hickory* 7:30
2 Grove City* 7:30
6 at Slippery Rock* 7:30
9 Meadville* 7:30
13 at Franklin* 7:30
14 at Greenville 7:30

Saturday: Reynolds

– Tom Reisenweber

Posted in: Basketball, Fall Fastbreak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Switch to our mobile site