Blogs » Varsity
By Mike Copper, Tom Reisenweber, Jeff Kirik Erie Times-News staff bloggers
The Varsity blog is the 2013 winner of an international EPPY award for best sports blog. EPPYs are awarded to media-affiliated websites by Editor & Publisher, an industry trade publication. Varsity is primarily maintained by Times-News sports writers Mike Copper and Tom Reisenweber and sports editor Jeff Kirik.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1700

Erie Times-News Breakout Softball Player of the Week: Mackenzie Hewett, McDowell

Mackenzie Hewett

Mackenzie Hewett almost forced her coach to put her on the mound last season with terrific pitching when McDowell needed it most.

The junior has developed into a dual threat from the plate. Hewett started off the season  with 11 strikeouts in a 12-0 win over Central Tech while offensively she contributed two hits and three RBIs.

The all-state honorable-mention selection had a 0.24 ERA with 91 strikeouts in 58 2/3 innings as a sophomore and is primed for another solid year for the Trojans.

Poll results:

Who is the Breakout Softball Player of the Week?

  • Mackenzie Hewett, McDowell (29%, 468 Votes)
  • Allison Williams, Corry (23%, 381 Votes)
  • Noelle Wienczkowski, Union City (9%, 149 Votes)
  • Aly Andrusky, West Middlesex (6%, 98 Votes)
  • Carly Bitters, Mercyhurst Prep (4%, 72 Votes)
  • Shana Grosch, Titusville (4%, 72 Votes)
  • Arianna Hanley, Saegertown (4%, 67 Votes)
  • Raven Rozantz, Fairview (4%, 58 Votes)
  • Hanley Spencer, Sharpsville (4%, 58 Votes)
  • Rylee Shaffer, Northwestern (3%, 56 Votes)
  • Meghan Martin, Iroquois (3%, 55 Votes)
  • Lexi Palmer, Linesville (3%, 47 Votes)
  • Julia Hatton, Girard (2%, 34 Votes)
  • Kristen Baker, Conneaut Valley (1%, 14 Votes)
  • Megan Chess, Hickory (1%, 12 Votes)

Total Voters: 1,640

Loading ... Loading ...

Posted in: District 10, Softball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Switch to our mobile site