Blogs » Varsity
By Mike Copper, Tom Reisenweber, Jeff Kirik Erie Times-News staff bloggers
The Varsity blog is the 2013 winner of an international EPPY award for best sports blog. EPPYs are awarded to media-affiliated websites by Editor & Publisher, an industry trade publication. Varsity is primarily maintained by Times-News sports writers Mike Copper and Tom Reisenweber and sports editor Jeff Kirik.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1700

Erie Times-News Breakout Spring Athlete of the Week: Thomas Pellegrino, Warren

Thomas Pellegrino

Thomas Pellegrino has been a key figure in the Warren boys tennis team’s dream season. Last week, Pellegrino helped the unbeaten Dragons sweep the District 10 Class AA postseason titles.

On May 9, he teamed up with Matt Sandberg to win the D-10 Class AA doubles title. The duo rallied to beat Fairview’s top team of R.J. Petrella and Andres Flores in three tough sets, 5-7, 7-6 (7-4), 6-4, in the finals.

On Friday in the Class AA team tournament, Pellegrino added a 7-4, 6-4 victory over Mario Picciotto at No. 2 singles in the Dragons’ 4-1 semifinal win over Kennedy Catholic.

Pellegrino then claimed a crucial victory in Warren’s historic 3-2 victory over Fairview in the title match. He beat Flores 7-6, 6-0 to help the Dragons secure their first D-10 team title.

Poll results:

Who is the Breakout Spring Athlete of the Week?

  • Thomas Pellegrino, Warren tennis (31%, 118 Votes)
  • Brian Dailey, Cathedral Prep lacrosse (22%, 85 Votes)
  • Alex Brzozowski, Cathedral Prep tennis (15%, 57 Votes)
  • Noah Jones, Rocky Grove volleyball (10%, 39 Votes)
  • Jake Carniewski, McDowell volleyball (8%, 32 Votes)
  • Mike Shirey, Cochranton volleyball (8%, 30 Votes)
  • Tyler Minnis, Meadville volleyball (6%, 22 Votes)

Total Voters: 383

Loading ... Loading ...

Posted in: District 10, Tennis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Switch to our mobile site