Blogs » Varsity
By Mike Copper, Tom Reisenweber, Jeff Kirik Erie Times-News staff bloggers
The Varsity blog is the 2013 winner of an international EPPY award for best sports blog. EPPYs are awarded to media-affiliated websites by Editor & Publisher, an industry trade publication. Varsity is primarily maintained by Times-News sports writers Mike Copper and Tom Reisenweber and sports editor Jeff Kirik.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1700

Erie Times-News Breakout Male Track Athlete of the Week: De’Vion Tate, McDowell

De'Vion Tate

De’Vion Tate seems to be getting only better as his high school career draws to a close.

The McDowell jumping standout punctuated his senior season with a pair of titles at the District 10 Class AAA championships May 16 at Harbor Creek’s Weitz Stadium. He jumped 22 feet in the long jump to edge his close friend, Cathedral Prep junior Joe Oduho, the 2011 D-10 champion. That was a season best for Tate.

Tate also won the triple jump with a personal-record 45-7. He enters the PIAA championships today seeded 23nd in the long jump and 14th in the triple jump. He placed eighth in the long jump in 2011.

He already turned in a strong effort at the state indoor championships this winter when he placed third in the long jump with a personal-best 22-7 and took eighth in the triple jump with a solid 44-3.

If he keeps improving, he could add at least one more state medal, if not two, to his collection.

Poll results:

Who is the Breakout Male Track and Field Athlete of the Week?

  • De'Vion Tate, McDowell (27%, 177 Votes)
  • Lawrence Baumann, Cathedral Prep (23%, 155 Votes)
  • Clay Allen, West Middlesex (17%, 114 Votes)
  • Austin Jerman, Warren (7%, 46 Votes)
  • Kevin Gardner, Fort LeBoeuf (6%, 38 Votes)
  • Nico Zahniser, Greenville (4%, 29 Votes)
  • Nate Tallada, Saegertown (4%, 27 Votes)
  • Daniel Jaskowak, Grove City (3%, 21 Votes)
  • John Yohman, Wilmington (3%, 20 Votes)
  • Jesse Ragon, Oil City (2%, 10 Votes)
  • Johnathon Jacoway, Sharon (1%, 9 Votes)
  • Jared Hollidge, Oil City (1%, 7 Votes)
  • Ryan Thompson, Slippery Rock (1%, 6 Votes)
  • Jarred Davis, Mercer (1%, 6 Votes)

Total Voters: 665

Loading ... Loading ...

Posted in: District 10, Track and field

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Switch to our mobile site