Blogs » Varsity
By Mike Copper, Tom Reisenweber, Jeff Kirik Erie Times-News staff bloggers
The Varsity blog is the 2013 winner of an international EPPY award for best sports blog. EPPYs are awarded to media-affiliated websites by Editor & Publisher, an industry trade publication. Varsity is primarily maintained by Times-News sports writers Mike Copper and Tom Reisenweber and sports editor Jeff Kirik.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1700

Erie Times-News Breakout Athlete of the Week nominees

Fans can vote for the Breakout Athlete of the Week on the top right corner of the page. Voting continues through Tuesday at 11:59 p.m. with the winners being featured in the Erie Times-News. Fans are encouraged to nominate athletes by 5 p.m. each Saturday by sending an e-mail to Athletes who have won this season are no longer eligible.

Note: There were no swimming events this past week. As a result, there are no swimming polls.

Boys basketball
Jaymon Mason, General McLane – Scored 23 points, including 16 in the first half, as the Lancers routed Cambridge Springs 70-26. He also had 27 points in a 69-51 win over Northwestern.
Corey Shinko, Northwestern – Had 18 points in a 71-32 win over Ripley (N.Y.).
Matt Hansen, McDowell – Had 16 points and was a spark for the Trojans in a 72-56 win over Lampeter-Strasburg.
Malquan Pullium, Strong Vincent - Scored 24 points in a 67-62 loss to Sto-Rox.
Zak Price, Meadville - Erupted for 37 points in 10 3-pointers in a 60-48 win over Seneca. He then had 24 points in a 65-51 win over St. Francis Catholic (Canada).
Bryce Turner, Seneca - Paced Seneca with 20 points in a 60-48 loss to Meadville. He also had 18 points in a 55-41 win over Cochranton.
Kendall Bonnett, Girard – Scored 17 points in a 57-22 win over Greenville in the Iroquois tournament. He also had nine points in the championship game to be named to the all-tournament team.
Logan Kallay, Erie First – Had 24 points in a 72-40 win over Commodore Perry in the Commodore Perry tournament.
Joey Lobenthal, Iroquois – Finished with 17 points in a 61-44 win over VisionQuest.
Deishaaron Gilmore, Central Tech – Scored 12 points for the Falcons in a 90-44 win over Brockway.
Andrew Niland, Fairview – Was named the tournament MVP at the Bishop Guilfoyle tournament. He started off with 22 points in a 69-58 win over Cathedral (Canada) before scoring 29 points in a 66-60 overtime loss to Bishop Guilfoyle.
Sheldon Zablotny, Cathedral Prep – Had 23 points in a 84-57 win over East and reached 1,000 career points.
Matt Votino, Hickory – Scored 21 points in a 50-39 win over Lampeter-Strasburg.
Jeff Thompkins, Kennedy Catholic – Finished with 19 points in a 61-47 win over Harbor Creek.
Carl Anderson, Mercyhurst Prep – Had 19 points in a 53-50 loss to North Catholic.

Girls basketball
Maria Welch, Girard – Had nine points and 10 rebounds to lead the YellowJackets to a 42-29 win over Cambridge Springs in the Corry tournament. She then had 18 points and 11 rebounds in an 81-33 win over Meadville to win the Corry tournament.
Shauntia Vactor-Pope, Meadville – Scored 14 points to lead the Bulldogs to a 45-26 win over Corry in the Corry tournament.
McKayla Zilhaven, Cambridge Springs - Had 16 points in a 42-25 win over Corry in the Corry tournament.
Chloe Wright, Mercyhurst Prep – Put together a terrific showing in the Mercy (Md.) tournament. She started off with 15 points and 14 rebounds in a 51-44 win over Mercy (Calif.) before scoring 12 points in a 40-36 loss to Mother of Mercy (Calif.).
Michelle Jahn, General McLane – Had 16 points and seven rebounds in a 58-22 win over Fairview in the Conneaut tournament.
Alexis Bowen, North East – Was named tournament MVP at the Saegertown tournament after two solid performances.
McKenzie Popatak, Sharpsville – Had 19 points in a 49-30 loss to North East.
Rachel DiBartolomeo, Saegertown – Finished with 18 points in a 44-27 win over Titusville.
Karissa Cratty, Youngsville – Scored 22 points in a 48-23 win over Union City.
Theresa Fachetti, Harbor Creek – Had 20 points in a 65-30 win over Northwestern in the Iroquois tournament. She then had 20 more points in a 48-28 win over Iroquois to be named the tournament MVP.
Lexi Grinnell, Commodore Perry – Finished with 18 points in a 52-47 loss to AC Valley in the Commodore Perry tournament. She then had 11 points in a 34-17 win over Jamestown.
Holly Grober, Hickory – Scored 16 points in a 61-27 win over Mercer in the Hickory tournament. She then had 18 points in a 70-23 win over Farrell as the Hornets won the Hickory tournament.
Mallory Torr, Sharon - Had 14 points in a 62-42 win over Youngstown East. She then scored 15 points in a 55-50 win over Brookfield (Ohio).
Raven Rozantz, Fairview - Scored 19 points in a 48-36 win over West Middlesex in the Conneaut tournament.
Lindsey Shidemantle, Conneaut - Connected on two free throws in the final minute of overtime to give the Eagles a thrilling 48-46 win over General McLane in the Conneaut tournament championship.

Sam Breese, Lakeview – Dominated at the Lakeview Duals by going 5-0 in the heavyweight matches.
Jake Reaugh, Jamestown – Went 5-0 at the Lakeview Duals in the 132 pound class.
Jarray Norris, Sharon – Won the 126-pound championship at the Redbank Valley tournament.
Jon Hennegan, Mercer - Claimed the heavyweight championship at the Redbank Valley tournament.
Gavin Kroesen, West Middlesex – Took home second place in the 132-pound class at the Redbank Valley tournament.
Austin Matthews, Reynolds – Won the 152-pound championship at the prestigious Manheim Central tournament.
Dalton Matthews, Franklin - Went 5-0 during the Lakeview Duals. He wrestling at 170 pound and had five pins during the event.
Jericho Hartle, Oil City – Went 3-1 at the Lakeview Duals with all three wins coming by fall.
Richard Knisley, Eisenhower – Dominated the 138-pound class at the Warren Duals with an undefeated record.
D.J. Fehlman, Warren – Finished with a perfect record at the Warren Duals in the 132-pound class.
Jaykup Durlin, Youngsville – Was the only Eagle to go 5-0 at the Warren Duals and wrestled in the 220-pound class.
Devan Brown, Saegertown – Took second at the loaded Canon-McMillan tournament.
Ryan Morris, Corry – Won the 195-pound class at the Southmoreland tournament.
Forrest Christmann, Slippery Rock – Claimed the heavyweight championship at the Southmoreland tournament.
Andrew Welton, Central Tech – Dominated at the Central Tech Duals with a 5-0 record.
Austin Andrews, Cochranton – Won the 170-pound class at the Redbank Valley tournament.
Zach Luben, Meadville – Went 5-0 at the Lakeview Duals, including three pins in the 145-pound class.

Posted in: Breakout Basketball, Breakout Wrestling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Switch to our mobile site