Blogs » Varsity
By Mike Copper, Tom Reisenweber, Jeff Kirik Erie Times-News staff bloggers
The Varsity blog is the 2013 winner of an international EPPY award for best sports blog. EPPYs are awarded to media-affiliated websites by Editor & Publisher, an industry trade publication. Varsity is primarily maintained by Times-News sports writers Mike Copper and Tom Reisenweber and sports editor Jeff Kirik.   Read more about this blog.
 Phone: 814-870-1700

Erie Times-News Breakout Athlete of the Week nominees

Fans can vote for the Breakout Athlete of the Week on the top right corner of the page. Voting continues through Tuesday at 11:59 p.m. with the winners being featured in the Erie Times-News. Fans are encouraged to nominate athletes by 5 p.m. each Saturday by sending an e-mail to Athletes who have won this season are no longer eligible.

Note: There will only be one swimming/diving poll because of a lack of competitions this week.

Boys basketball
DeMarcus Cleckley, Strong Vincent – Continued his second-half surge with 17 points in a 73-41 win over Meadville.
Melvyn Henderson, East – Scored in the final seconds to help the Warriors upset Hickory 46-43.
Jaymon Mason, General McLane – Had another huge game with 26 points in a 70-55 win over Farrell.
Joe Dunn, Girard – Connected on the game-winning drive in the final seconds to help the YellowJackets come back and beat Sharon 47-43.
Ryan Williams, Eisenhower – Scored 20 points to help the Knights beat Commodore Perry 65-47.
Demetrius McClennan, VisionQuest – Had 20 points in a 54-48 win over Rocky Grove.
Marc Corbin, Fairview – Connected on 8-of-10 from the free throw line in the fourth quarter to help the Tigers beat Saegertown 59-46.
Alex Borges, Mercyhurst Prep – Scored 18 points in a 65-46 win over Sharpsville.
Matthew Dogan, West Middlesex – Had 27 points in an 82-44 win over Iroquois.
Brandon Rice, Lakeview – Scored 14 points in a 48-37 win over Titusville.
Jake Wolf, McDowell – Went 9-for-9 from the free throw line and scored 17 points in a 69-55 upset of Central Tech.

Girls basketball
Johntae Scott, Farrell – Scored 14 points in a 43-39 overtime win over Rocky Grove.
Madison Bernarding, Cochranton – Had 24 points in a 60-19 win over Reynolds.
Kate Powell, Commodore Perry – Finished with 29 points in a 51-50 win over Eisenhower.
Louisa Lytle, General McLane – Had 10 points and eight rebounds in a 54-25 rout of Saegertown.
Alexis Bowen, North East – Scored 14 points on four 3-pointers, including a clutch 3 in the final minutes to help the Grapepickers beat Sharon 45-40.
Lexie Arkwright, Mercer – Had 24 points in a 45-34 win over Girard.
McKenzie Popatak, Sharpsville - Scored 20 points in a 34-29 win over Seneca.
Abby Klemm, Central Tech – Finished with 17 points in a 54-49 win over East.
Karlee McBride, Villa Maria – Scored 18 points in a 56-13 win over Grove City.
Holly Grober, Hickory – Had 19 points in a 58-43 win over Warren.
Elysha Chrzanowski, Mercyhurst Prep – Scored 12 points in a 36-31 win over Slippery Rock.

Mike Murphy, McDowell – Won the D-10 Class AAA boys diving title.
Julia Marn, McDowell – Claimed the D-10 Class AAA girls diving title.
Annie Royek, Corry - Beat a talented field to win the D-10 Class AA girls diving title.
Hunter Scott, Harbor Creek – Won the D-10 Class AA boys diving title.
Ellis Beardsley, Warren – Had four event wins in a sweep of Corry.
Logan Gearhart, Warren – Won four events against Corry.
Amy Adams, Iroquois – Had four wins against Strong Vincent.
Helen Tullio, Villa Maria – Won three events in a win over Warren.
Mike Squeglia, Cathedral Prep – Had three wins in a win over Warren.
Emma Weisenfluh, Mercyhurst Prep – Won four events in a win over Warren.
Nick Euliano, Mercyhurst Prep – Had four event wins against Warren.

Devin Brown, Saegertown – Won the District 10 Class AA championship in the 106-pound weight class.
Trevor Beiter, Seneca – Earned a pin in the championship match to win the District 10 Class AA title in the 195-pound weight class.
Austin Matthews, Reynolds - Continued his dominate career with a D-10 title in the 152-pound class.
Jarray Norris, Sharon – Won the 126-pound District 10 Class AA championship.
Evan Daley, Fort LeBoeuf – Pulled out an overtime win in the 220-pound class to win the D-10 Class AA championship.
Tim Vargo, Union City – Won an overtime thriller in the 170-pound D-10 Class AA championship.
Forrest Christmann, Slippery Rock - Capped a solid D-10 season by wining the 285-pound class at the D-10 Class AA championships.

Posted in: Breakout Basketball, Breakout Swimmer/diver, Breakout Wrestling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Switch to our mobile site