Jahn joins Lancers’ list of 1,000-point scorers

   December 23, 2014 12:28 am

Michelle Jahn bacame the ninth player in the history of General McLane girls basketball to record at least 1,000 points in her varsity career Monday night. The senior reached and surpassed that milestone with a 15 points during the Lancers’ 41-34 loss at Central Tech. She departed Al Calabrese Gymnasium with 1,009 in her three-plus…

Warren wrestlers win three Southern Tier titles

   December 21, 2014 6:47 pm

Warren won three divisions during Saturday’s Southern Tier Wrestling Officials Association Holiday Classic. The weekend meet was held at Frewsburg (N.Y.) High School. D.J. Fehlman was the most notable of Warren’s three tournament titlists. The returning District 10 champion was victorious in the 138-pound class, which he capped with a 2-1 decision over Cody McGregor…

D-10 Weigh-In: Lancers lose to PIAA power

   December 17, 2014 12:26 am

General McLane wrestling coach Ryan Cook wasn’t pleased with the Lancers’ overall performance Tuesday night, even though they lost by five points to one of Pennsylvania’s elite programs. Canon-McMillan forfeited in the 152-pound weight class and defaulted at 195 when it sent out an ineligible wrestler for that division. However, the Big Macs overcame the…

D-10 Weigh-In: Canon-Mac makes McLane appearance

   December 16, 2014 12:16 am

One of the PIAA’s signature wrestling teams will compete on a District 10 mat today. The Canon-McMillan Big Macs, winners of the 2012 and 2013 PIAA Class AAA team titles, will visit General McLane in a non-region dual at 7 p.m. Each team is 2-0 overall, with McLane’s victories against Region 4 opponents Oil City…

D-10 Weigh-In: Claytons contribute to Lakeview win

   December 15, 2014 12:33 am

Andrew Clayton likely has the unenviable duty of following two-time PIAA Class AA champion Sam Breese as Lakeview’s starter at heavyweight. Difficult or not, the senior began that task with a pin in the Sailors’ 2014-15 dual opener over the weekend. He required 3 minutes, 37 seconds to pin Kacee Gilliland of Slippery Rock. The…

D-10 Weigh-In: Saegertown senior has Ironman mettle

   December 14, 2014 12:21 am

There’s more than one star senior on Saegertown’s 2014-15 wrestling team. Dylan Reynolds proved so Saturday night. Reynolds went undefeated over the two-day Walsh Ironman Tournmaent. The two-day meet at Walsh Jesuit High School in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, annually includes top teams talent from around the country. Saturday saw Reynolds, a 195-pound entrant, win three…

Four-time PIAA mat champ Ty Moore dies

   December 13, 2014 12:10 am

The Pittsburgh Tribune-Review reported earlier this week that Ty Moore, one of only 12 wrestlers to win four gold medals in PIAA history, died Dec. 9 from an undisclosed illness at his Zelienople home. The North Allegheny High School graduate was 43. Moore was a state champion from 1987 to 1990. The lightweight was only…

Lenox seeded second at Mill Hall meet

   December 12, 2014 1:22 am

McDowell lightweight Charlie Lenox received the highest seed of any District 10 wrestler scheduled to compete in the King of the Mountain Tournament. The two-day meet begins today at Central Mountain High School in Mill Hall. Lenox is ranked second for the tournament’s 120-pound weight class. Should form hold, he would face top seed Derek…

D-10 Weigh-In: Youngsville

   December 11, 2014 1:51 am

Dave Myers has replaced Scott Ishman as coach of the Youngsville Eagles wrestling team. Myers takes over a program that lost seven seniors from the 2013-14 team. The veteran returnees are seniors Aaron Hoover at 145 pounds and heavyweight Austin Slocum. The Eagles do have an significant influx of talent joining their nest. Freshman Mason…

D-10 Mat Musings: West Middlesex

   December 11, 2014 12:45 am

West Middlesex, coached by Dave Taylor, saw two its wrestlers reach finals in last weekend’s Hickory Invitational Tournament. Gavin Kroesen and Colton Smith advanced to finals in their respective weight classes during the traditional opening event to the District 10 season. Kroesen was the meet’s silver medalist at 152 pounds, as was Smith at 285….

D-10 Mat Musings: Warren

   December 10, 2014 1:11 am

The Warren Dragons lost four starters to graduation, but did retain their biggest talent. That would be D.J. Fehlman. Now a senior, he won last season’s District 10 Class AAA title at 126 pounds with a technical fall of McDowell’s Benji Yates. Fehlman went on to place sixth at the PIAA meet. He began this…

D-10 Mat Musings: Union City

   December 10, 2014 12:58 am

Two of Union City’s top returning wrestlers were silver and bronze medalists during last weekend’s Hickory Invitational Tournament. Dustin Weilacher lived up to his ranking as the meet’s second seed for 132 pounds. The senior lost an 11-4 decision to Commodore Perry’s John Mott in the championship final. Placing third at 145 was Dustin Tomcho….

D-10 Mat Musings: Titusville

   December 9, 2014 2:27 am

Titusville graduate and former heavyweight star Mo Burns is back for his 17th season in charge of his alma mater’s wrestling program. The 2014-15 Rockets will compete minus middleweight Ehrin Lee, last season’s District 10 Class AAA champion at 160 pounds, and fellow graduate Kaleb Chase. Titusville will have four veterans in its regular lineup,…

D-10 Mat Musings: Strong Vincent

   December 9, 2014 1:19 am

Strong Vincent will still see three wrestlers from last season’s team in action this winter. The problem for the Colonels, they’ll be competing for Class AAA rivals. Brothers John and Carmine Ciotti enrolled at General McLane. John is now a senior for the Lancers and Carmine a junior. Vincent also watched Jared Carlson enroll at…

D-10 Mat Musings: Slippery Rock

   December 9, 2014 12:08 am

Bob Becker will coach the Slippery Rock wrestling team for the 2014-15 season. The Rockets graduated Kelsey Brendlinger (120 pounds) and Matt Andrascik (132), who was a Section 2-AA finalist as a senior and qualified for the District 10 tournament. Probable returnees for Slippery Rock are seniors Manfred Johns and Zane Wolf; juniors Adam Jones, Dalton Hilliard…